So Sweet Šticle ~ pt. 1

9 Apr

This post is a continuation of my previous one, titled: Feeling Good about Šticle.

As I mentioned before, Šticle (commonly found in Croatian nošnje, from the Panonian regions) are my main inspiration here. Their decorative beauty and unique patterning really drew me in.

I have been working with this beautiful yarn that is spun with a metallic ribbon. Although it is a little tricky to see in photos, this yarn gives a subtle, yet beautiful sparkle

So far, I have come up with two styles that I am really happy with. The first is more like a fingerless glove. I took a lot of time to formulate a pattern that shapes the glove in a way that fits the hand very comfortably and easily. These little gloves are too cute!

I even created room along the edge rib to weave a ribbon through.

My first three completed designs are available in my Etsy store!

Christian Badanjak Photography

Christian Badanjak Photography

 

Christian Badanjak Photography

Christian Badanjak Photography

Christian Badanjak Photography

Christian Badanjak Photography

 

The second style  of Šticle-inspired wristlets are more true to the inspiration.
The knit work stops right at the wrist line, and I finish it off with some abstract/floral crochet patterning.

They are still on the needles… so stay tuned for So Sweet Šticle ~ pt. 2
p.s. I’m having fun with buttons…

🙂

2 Responses to “So Sweet Šticle ~ pt. 1”

  1. Nicole April 9, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    So excited to see the sticle 😀

  2. Nicole April 9, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Oh and I like the wristlets, too. Hehe

Leave a comment